Skip to content ↓

Waverley Primary School


Our GB meets every half-term to discuss key aspects of school development. Their job is to establish a strategic plan for the school and to work with the school leadership to ensure the best possible outcomes for our pupils. They need to know about everything that goes on in school and particularly if we are achieving value for money.


Their ultimate aim is to improve achievement for all pupils - supporting and challenging our school leaders in the process. Note that all our governors have signed a register of pecuniary interest that indicates they have no links to businesses, agencies or otherwise that could gain favour (financial or otherwise) from the decisions of the governing body.


Angela Tinning is our Chair of Governors and Lee Corby is our Vice Chair. If you wish to contact them please speak to the school office for contact details.  


Mrs Leeming works alongside the GB but is also held to account for the way in which she runs the school. Mrs Leadbeater is our staff representative on the GB.


Currently there are 13 members in our Governing Body:


3 parent governors (appointed by parents):

Mr D Carville (Curriculum Committee)

Mrs K Costigan (Staffing & Finance Committee)

Mrs J Ayers (Curriculum Committee)

2 Foundation Trust governors (appointed by the Governing Body):  

Mrs E Douse (Staffing & Finance Committee)

Mrs A Tinning (Staffing & Finance Committee & Chair of Governors)

1 Staff governor (appointed by the staff):

Mrs K Leadbeater (Curriculum Committee)

1 Local Authority governor (appointed by the LA):

Vacancy (Staffing & Finance Committee)

4 Co-opted governors (appointed by the Governing Body):

Mrs W Leeming (Headteacher)

Mr L Corby (Staffing & Finance Committee & Vice Chair)

Vacancy (Curriculum Committee)

Mrs W Gair (Curriculum Committee)

2 Associate Governors (appointed by the Governing Body):

Mrs K Sample (Curriculum Committee)

Mrs S Selkirk 

(Associate Governors have no voting rights)

Clerk to the Governors

Claire Hepple


Previous Governors

Jenna Wilkinson  Term of office from 06/07/2016 - 31/07/2022 (No DOI)

Thomas Garrod Term of office from 20/03/2019 to 14/03/2023 (No DOI)

Adam Fraser term of office from 20/03/2019 to 16/05/2023 (No DOI)


We work closely as a team particularly with the Headteacher and senior staff on a wide variety of tasks which include:

Developing a strategic plan for the school;

Determining school aims, policies and priorities

Setting targets

Monitoring and evaluating the work of the school

Appointing staff

Managing the budget

Securing high levels of attendance and good standards of student behaviour

Ensuring that all children in school have access to a broad and balanced curriculum

Ensuring the health and safety of pupils and staff 


The minutes of our Governing Body meetings are available on request from the school office.